+44 (0)1865 566166 (UK)

+1 (609) 608-0543 (US)

Summer School Faculty - 2018

We are proud to announce the faculty joining our summer school in France 2018.


Every year, the John Locke Institute's summer school in France is joined by many world class academics, in Philosophy, Politics, Economics and History. This year is no exception.

We are proud to announce six of the faculty joining us at this year's Summer School in France. These faculty members teach at prestigious institutions around the world, including the University of Oxford, George Mason University and the Institution of Economic Affairs.


More faculty members will be announced in the coming weeks.

Professor Alan Ryan

Professor Ryan was elected a fellow of New College, Oxford, in 1969. He was professor of politics at Princeton University for fifteen years, warden of New College, Oxford, for thirteen years, and founding director of the University of Oxford’s Rothermere American Institute.

Professor David Friedman

Professor Friedman is a professor at Santa Clara University in the United States. He received his PHD at the university of Chicago. Professor Friedman has written many books, including The Machinery of Freedom. Students may also be familiar with the work of his father, Milton Friedman, another prominent libertarian economist.

Dr. Steve Davies

Dr Davies is head of education at the Institute of Economics Affairs and distinguished fellow in history at the John Locke Institute. Dr Davies has a master’s degree and a doctorate from St Andrew’s University in Scotland. He was senior lecturer in the department of history and economic history at Manchester Metropolitan University.

Professor Peter Millican 

In 2005, Professor Millican was appointed as a Gilbert Ryle Fellow and Professor of Philosophy at Hertford College, University of Oxford. Prior to this, he lectured at Leeds University on combining computing and philosophy.

Professor Robin Hanson

Professor Hanson is Associate Professor of Health Economics and Political Economy at George Mason University. He is also a research associate at the Future of Humanity Institute of Oxford University. He received his Ph.D in 1997 in social sciences from Caltech. 

Professor Ralf Bader​

Dr Bader is a fellow of Merton College, Oxford, and an associate professor in the philosophy department at the University of Oxford. Prior to moving to Oxford, Dr Bader was assistant professor in the philosophy department at New York University.

Mr David Wills

After a distinguished career in private equity Mr Wills pursued a new vocation as a World War II historian. He designs and leads historical tours to explore wartime Berlin, the rise of the Nazis in Bavaria, and D-Day and the Battle of Normandy. 

Professor John Filling

Dr. Filling is a lecturer in the faculty of philosophy at the University of Cambridge, and a fellow and director of studies in philosophy at King’s College, Cambridge. Dr. Filling was a junior research fellow in political philosophy at St John’s College, Oxford, and a lecturer in political philosophy at Brasenose College, Oxford.

Professor Edward Stringham


Professor Edward Stringham is the President of the American Institute for Economic Research and Professor of Economic Innovation at Trinity College. He was as Associate Professor at San Jose State University (2002-2008) and the F.A. Hayek Endowed visiting professor at the University of Klagenfurt in 2008.

Martin Cox


Mr Cox is the director of the John Locke Institute. A graduate of the University of Oxford, Mr Cox was a tutor in economics at Oriel College, Oxford, and University College, Oxford, and stipendiary lecturer in economics at Trinity College, Oxford. 



Mr Andrew Robinson 

Mr. Andrew Robinson is a historian at Eton College, where he is also house master of the The Timbralls. Mr. Robinson has studied the historical connections of Eton College, in particular the school’s links to India.

Dr Vanessa Burns

An environmental geographer and doctoral candidate, Dr. Vanessa Burns is currently researching climate change at the University of Oxford. Dr. Burns has an Honours Degree in Communications (2009) from the University of Technology Sydney and a Masters Degree in Communications from the University of New South Wales (2012).

Professor Ana Laura Edelhoff

Dr Edelhoff is a teaching fellow at the Eberhard Karls University of Tübinge, where she specialises in ancient philosophy with a particular interest in Aristotle and Plato’s metaphysics.