2020 Essay Competition Results

Announcing the

2020 Essay Prize Winners

The John Locke Institute usually holds its annual essay prize awards dinner in Oxford but due to the COVID-19 pandemic we have been forced to cancel this year's ceremony. Instead, the Institute will run an online academic conference for our essay contestants. Details on how to register for this will be sent by email to all contestants. Prize winners should email marie.loubeyre@johnlocke.com in order to claim the prize money before December 31st 2020.

If you were shortlisted but didn't receive a prize, you may have been awarded a Commendation for your essay. These results are published below. 

Congratulations to all shortlisted contestants for the quality of their submissions!

Grand Prize
Ethan Christian Tan, Anglo-Chinese School, Singapore

Philosophy Prize

Winner: Ethan Christian Tan, ACS (Independent), Singapore

Second Prize: Min-Jun Kang, Korea International School, Korea

Third Prize: Ali Haider, Wallington County Grammar School, UK



Winner: Helny Hobbs, Newstead Wood School, UK

Second Prize: Elizabeth Zhu, University of Toronto School, Canada

Third Prize: Calvin Xu, Appleby College, Canada

Economics Prize

Winner: Raphael Conte, Sir William Borlase's Grammar School, UK

Second Prize: Saskia Poulter, The Tiffin Girls' School, UK

Third Prize: Jaimin Shah, King Edward VI Grammar School, UK


History PRIZE

Winner: Runan Lin, Georgetown Preparatory School, USA

Second Prize: Christopher Conway, King's College School, UK

Equal Third Prize: Sungjin Park, Wellington College, UK and Megan Cui, Phillips Andover Academy, USA

Psychology Prize

Winner: Tianyi Jia, Princeton High School, USA

Second Prize: Henry Barker, Felsted School, UK

Third Prize: Jessica Na, Interlake High School, USA


Theology PRIZE

Winner: Noah Buckle, Watford Grammar School for Boys, UK

Second Prize: Zheng Wei Lim, Raffles Institution, Singapore

Equal Third Prize: Varun Venkatesh, Tanglin Trust School, Singapore

Law Prize

Winner: Sirui Cai, Raffles Institution, Singapore

Second Prize: Junfang Zhang, Hwa Chong Institution, Singapore

Third Prize: Christopher Bong, ARCH Education, Hong Kong

Oxford 017_preview (2018_05_26 13_17_39

Junior Prize

Winner:  Jason Hausenloy, UWCSEA East Campus, Singapore

Second Prize: Anna Rantakari, Wellington College, UK

Equal Third Prize: Alexander Fletcher, St Paul's School, UK